Saturday, January 30, 2010

Team : Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers

      Deccan Charger’s name was derived from Deccan Chronicle, a known media group.  It is one of the participants in DLF Indian Premier League and represents Hyderabad in tournament. It is the only team which has no icon player. V.V.S. Laxman was decided to be the icon player of the team, but Laxman refused the request so many new young players can get a chance of playing. So due to Laxman’s refusal towards playing as icon player, Adam Gilchrist played as captain of team. They performed so pathetically in first tournament that they were at 8th place by the end of tournament. But it looked as they went through many transformations because  dramatically they won second season of IPL.

      Deccan Chronicle, media group bought title of Hyderabad for US$107 million. Its logo has also been taken from media group’s own logo – a charging bull. Team management initially got hold on many star players like Andrew Symonds, Adam Gilchrist, Shahid Afridi, Scott Styris and Herschelle Gibbs. From inaugural time, Team was one of the favorites to take away IPL title. But team failed to reach even semi-finals. Andrew Symonds, one of the star player of the team, played only 3 matches and returned to his country to play for national team. And even in those 3 matches, in which he played, his performance was not up to the mark.

      In total 14 matches, Deccan Chargers played; team managed to bag only 2 matches and lost remaining 12. After this pathetic performance, team management sacked their C.E.O. and entire administration team. In second season of IPL, team performed brilliantly. In first round of season 2, they won all matches. And in all matches their captain Adam Gilchrist outplayed all bowlers of other side and scored 495 runs and caught out 15 players behind the stumps and bagged player of the tournament award.

No comments: